Cheb Khaled

Sahra, Cheb Khaled

Sahra, Cheb Khaled

I had the track Aicha (listen and watch) from this CD of Cheb Khaled in my world music collection for years and never listened to it before Shadi came and gave me an education in music from the Muslim world. Aicha is a song of which I never tire, and I will sometimes set the CD changer in my car to repeat so that I can listen to it over and over again. Think of it as sort of the Pachebel’s Canon of Raï.

Paul Tingen wrote an excellent article in Sound on Sound that goes in-depth about Khaled, Raï, and the recording of Sahra.

Cheb Khaled’s fan site (in French) can be found here.

Leave a Reply

